Loading Events

Style-switching in the Western Classroom

December 5, 2019

University students coming from Asia to study in North America face significant challenges adjusting to the cultural norms of western classrooms.

Many aspects of higher education in the west—direct communication between students and professors, an emphasis on completing tasks instead of building relationships, the focus on one’s wellbeing before the good of the group—can seem foreign and strange.

Join us for the webinar Style-switching in the Western Classroom, where Instructor Susan Virtue from Brock University will illustrate how students in her class used the GlobeSmart platform to identify their cultural work style, compared results with other students and country work style averages, and strategized on how to adapt and style switch in a new classroom environment.

Participants will walk away with:

  • Enhanced understanding of the cultural challenges facing Asian students of study abroad
  • A validated instrument for assessing cultural orientations
  • A proven model for developing the ability for Asian students to style switch
  • Recommendations on how to enhance the effectiveness of the integration experience of Asian students

Webinar registrants will receive trial access to GlobeSmart.

DATE & TIME: Thursday, December 5 at 8:00am (San Francisco) / 11:00am (New York) / 5:00pm (Paris)  see event in my timezone 

Can’t make it? Register to receive a recording after the event!